Demir Lab.
„Our professional competence is your profit“
 

Damage and failure investigation


As every course of events leave spots, the research and the interpretation of spots are, especially by damage examination, very important elements. For instance cracks provide much information from the crack morphology.

For the first search of damage surface is naked eye observation, or use of a binocular, absolutely essential. With this the fracture origin can often be determined, the propagation of crack and often the type of crack. For the description of the crack characteristic it will be technical language applied. For example the crack lines referred to as "Beach Marks". Like throwing a stone in the water, the source of circulated wave rings is laying in the centre of beach marks, which points to the fracture origin of fatigue fracture


Crack lines are called "River Patterns. Microscopical river lines of crack surface and are a spitting image of the earth distinguish to each other actually because of their size, which propagation is most probably one to one billion. Follow one the "river line" in the following direction, so can one find the "mouth/orifice" of crack area.


Should one interpret the spots incorrectly, then of course the measurements will be chosen wrongly, causing the component to again be damaged by the next re-operation. That will cause not only the additional costs due to replacement of component but also follow-up costs due to operations break down and/or due to replayed damage cases which leads to loss of the customer confidence. More fatal then material damage is the failure which puts someone’s life and limb at risk.

Thanks to many years experience Demir Lab. can support you, in order to avoid such damage, by getting deeply to the bottom of the causes of failures.
Back..
Demir Lab. Met-Tech. GmbH  •  Sulzer-Allee 40  •  CH-8404 Winterthur

Demir Lab.
„Unsere Fachkompetenz ist Ihr Gewinn“
 

Schadens-, Fehlerabklärungen


Da jeder Vorgang Spuren hinterlässt, ist die Spurensuche und Spureninterpretation vor allem in der Schadenuntersuchung ein besonders wichtiges Element. Bei Brüchen lassen sich z.B. aus der Bruchflächenmorphologie viele Informationen gewinnen.

Ein erstes Absuchen mit blossem Auge oder einem Binokular ist unumgänglich. Hiermit kann aus der Bruchfläche oft schon die Bruchausgangsstelle, Bruchausbreitungsrichtung und oft die Bruchart bestimmt werden. Für die Beschreibung der Bruchmerkmale werden fachspezifische Ausdrücke verwendet. Z.B. Bruch-Rastlinien auf einer Schwingbruchfläche, "Beach Marks". Wie der ins Wasser geworfene Stein, die Quelle der zirkularen Wellenringe ist, liegt im "Zentrum" der Rastlinien die Bruchstartstelle des Ermüdungsbruches.


Bruchlinien nennen sie "River Patterns". Die mikroskopische "Flussspur" der Bruchfläche und das Ebenbild auf der Erde unterscheiden sich eigentlich nur durch ihren Grössen, deren Verhältnis hier vielleicht eins zu einer Milliarde ist. Folgt man der "Flussspur" in Fliessrichtung, so findet man an der "Mündung" die Bruchstartstelle.


Lässt man sich durch die Spuren in die Irre führen, werden natürlich die falschen Massnahmen ergriffen und das Bauteil geht halt bei seinem nächsten Einsatz wieder kaputt. Was nicht nur die Kosten durch Ersatz des ausgefallenen Bauteils verursacht, sondern hohe Folgekosten durch Betriebsunterbruch und/oder durch wiederholte Schadenfälle, zum Verlust des Vertrauens der Kunden führen. Schwerwiegender als materielle Schäden sind die Fälle die Leib und Leben gefährden.

Dank der langjährigen Erfahrung kann Demir Lab. Ihnen helfen Schäden zu vermeiden, indem wir der Ursache von Schadenfällen auf den Grund gehen.
Zurück..
Demir Lab. Met-Tech. GmbH  •  Sulzer-Allee 40  •  CH-8404 Winterthur